Closet Coordination

As I’ve grown in my career I’ve noticed myself leaning towards a more professional wardrobe, but also one with a more definitive style. While developing my professional yet stylish wardrobe I’ve felt the need to keep my closet completely organized.

Studies have shown women spend an average of 18 minutes getting ready for work on Monday mornings, which tapers down as the week drags on. By staying organized I can cut this time in half and make stylish decisions quickly and consistently throughout the week.

There are four main organization options I like to use when arranging the clothes in my closet, which are by season, by color, by type, and by category. You can combine all of these options for a fully organized wardrobe or just use a couple of the ideas together.

Organization Options

Season

Rotating your clothes each season allows you to focus on only what is available in your closet. You can keep everything neat and sorted without over-crowding your clothes.

Color

By sorting the clothes in your closet by color you can easily coordinate outfits and create combinations you may not have otherwise considered. Color coordinating also helps you to maintain the season color trends.

Type

Keep dresses with dresses and skirts with skirts so your eye can flow through the garments with ease.

Category

Organize your clothes by times of day such as workwear and evening wear. Just like with season this allows you to see only what is available and make quicker decisions.


Additional Tips

Keep hangers uniform. I prefer to use all wooden hangers, but any uniform style and color will work.

Use the same organization options for your shoes. You can also place all shoes in containers or uniform shoe boxes with an image of the shoe affixed to the end of the box.

Comments
3 Responses to “Closet Coordination”
  1. Vi Bogar says:

    I wanted to check up and allow you to know how considerably I treasured discovering your blog today. I will consider it a real honor to do things at my workplace and be able to make use of the tips discussed on your web page and also share in visitors’ feedback like this. Should a position involving guest writer become on offer at your end, you should let me know.

  2. Telstra says:

    I will immediately grab your rss feed as I can not find your email subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please let me know so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    • Hi Telstra, there is a link on our main site page for subscribing to our blog! You can either do so by clicking on the RSS feed button at the top right of the screen or on the “Subscribe” button located under our company logo in the middle of the page. Here is the link https://scandedesigner.wordpress.com/ Let me know if you still have any problems. Thanks for joining us!

Leave a Reply

